Writing Redneck

The Influence of Details

Image result for public domain images snow

There are some scenes on this planet too beautiful to believe, and you have to look again and again to soak it all in. Whenever I stumble upon this type of beautiful scene, I wish I could jump out of the truck and just let it drive on so I could sit alone and look out at a world untouched by modern technology. The one I’m writing about today was a winter one, because its September and I’m really sick of summer, and I really want there to be snow so I can have a fire in the fireplace.

These scenes stick with you for all time and fuel the imagination of a writer. It lends the detail and depth only real experiences can afford in an author’s writings. It is the reason writers are encouraged to “Go,” and “Experience,” because without experience our writings are based on pure assumption. You don’t have to be a globe trekker to gain depth in your work, but I bet it helps.

One scene that always fuels my imagination was one I saw a few years ago while on a hunting excursion in the mountains. Now, I live in the mountains, but compared to where we went, I live in a bustling metropolis, and believe me, I don’t.

It was still fall, but here at 6000 feet it was full blown winter. We were on the face of one mountain, looking down a draw with two other peaks off in the distance. Between them the sky was first blue, then yellow, then orange, and finally resting at purple near the mountains. All around us snow was frozen to the roads, burying the bushes, and clinging to the trees so perfectly it almost looked like it was designed in a video game. The snow was pristine, unbroken by a track anywhere on the mountain side and it glistened orange in reflection of the setting sun.

And then we got stuck. It didn’t look quite so pretty when it was the one thing keeping us from getting out. And we were sadly unprepared to spend the night on a frozen mountain (something that will never happen again. Hereafter there will be a cooler full of food and a stack of blankets.) Honestly, it only took us an hour to get the truck unstuck, but it really scared us for a while; the road was a sheet of ice and the snow banks were deep and soft. It broke the serenity a bit, but that scene from the top of the mountain is one I still dream about.

Standard

Leave a Reply

